WEEK 6 Extended Porject

Rotoscope experiment

I first start the experiment by recording a fast action, this is because my fight scene will be mostly fast actions and movements between to characters. The video was of me doing multiple straight punches, this will allow me to decide which punch I want to use.

I then brought it into Photoshop and scanned through the footage to decide what punch I wanted. Once decided, I cropped the footage down to the punch I wanted; I then began to Rotoscope, however instead of rotoscoping every frame, I only Rotoscoped key points in my movements which are when I started the action, when I was halfway through the action and finally when I was at the end of my action.

First key rotoscope

You can see that in my second key rotoscope, I have used animation techniques such as motion blur, this was done by instead of doing the normal outline of the arm and hand, I left the inside colour of its own and used outline to draw trails coming from the arm. I also used smearing by making the inside colour bigger than the normal arm, going towards the direction it came from. I used these techniques for some in-betweens as well.

second key rotoscope

When working on the in-betweens, I first took into account how fast I was moving at that moment, this is because the faster I moved the less frames I needed in that moment. I found that I needed less frames half way through than the end and beginning as this is when I am delivering the punch. Once all the frames are completed, I brought the frames into a different Photoshop file and began to work out the timing using Ones and Twos which I learnt last week, this is when I have the same drawing for multiple frames.

Here is the completed version:

I have also created alternate versions of the animation, where I have slightly changed the frames where my arm is moving fast. Instead of losing the border lines and using them for trail lines to represent motion blur, I kept the border lines but stretched and enlarged them; here is the result:

stretching frame

And for this one, I used multiples in one of the frames as my arm launches forward:

mutliples frame

When analysing the different techniques, I found that they only made a slight difference to the animation, the rotocope that uses stretching seems to be less powerful than the other rotoscopes. The multiple rotoscope and the motion blur rotoscope are very similar in delivery of the punch, however the multiples to me seem more natural than the motion blur, this is because the action is that fast, making the motion blur sort of exaggerate the speed which isn’t a bad thing. It could be improved with less trail lines to lessen the effect of motion blur; the multiples could also be improved as they seem to give the animation a bit of a stutter, to improve it I’ll need more practice and experience, same goes for stretching.

Evaluation

From this I have proven that the techniques commonly used in 2D animation can be applied to a normal rotoscope; I will be able use this to create my animation, making it easier for me to create an animated fight scene for my project. I have also created my own process of using those techniques when working on the rotoscope, this will allow me to work more quickly when animating for my project and make it easier to plan out what I will do for each day as I will know how long each step takes.

Leave a Reply

