Week 3

Case study into the skateboard

This week, in order to learn about case studies, I did a case study on the skateboard in a group. Before we began our research, we first created a mind map of what we knew already about the skateboard.

skateboard-mind-map

We then began to do research into the skateboard, we first wrote down what we wanted to find out about the skateboard, then each of us separately went and did secondary researched on the internet. I did research into how the skateboard’s design changed and evolved over the years; the main search term I used was “the evolution of the skateboard’s design. Here is the final mind map with what we researched on it:

skatboard-mind-map-2

In my research, I included the year the skateboard changed, its name, its shape and a little bit of information about it. Here is what I wrote down on the mind map:

1940s-50s:

Skateboards were merely just planks of wood with skates attached to the bottom. These were called sidewalk surfboards.

1959-60s:

Skateboards began to come into popularity and their shape changed, their were two types, the Rollar Derby Skateboard and Nash Shark.

1964:

Coming near to the end of the popularity of the skateboard, a new skateboard was released which was said to be made by surfers for surfers. Its shape took a lot of inspiration from the surfboard, it was called G&S FiberFlex Pintail.

1970:

Next came the BananaBoard, its was known for being skinny and flexible, along with being made from polypropylene and had added ribs on the underside of the skateboard for structural support.

1975:

The Road Rider offered the first ever skateboard that had precision bearings made just for skateboards.

1980s:

Skateboards shape changed again, the ideal board to ride was the Old School Fishtail.

1990s:

The skateboard began to focus around more street skateboarding, this gave birth to the well known skateboard, the Popsickle.

2000:

The board hasn’t changed much since the 1990s, however the concave may have gotten a little deeper; along with that, more people are riding their own custom boards.

Reflection

I believe I have done fairly well with this task, as I was able to get the information I needed very easily and apply it to the final mind map. From this task, I have put into practice my secondary research skills on the internet, I can apply this knowledge and skills towards my final major project when I have to secondary research into a specific thing.

Harvard reference:

Filingenie (2016) Evolution of the Skateboard deck Infographic. Available at: http://www.bestinfographics.co/evolution-of-the-skateboard-deck-infographic/ (Accessed: 27 January 2017).

Case studies on my chosen technology

After doing a case study on the skateboard, I put my skill at creating a case study into practice by creating a case study on a chosen discipline. I did a case study on 2D animation, this would also help me with my FMP as I could aim the project around animation to improve my knowledge and skills in animation. I first did a mind map of what I knew about 2D animation using the 5 key words: what, where, when, why and how.

From this I learn that I needed to do more research on the history of animation, the correct names of types of 2D animation, famous animators and more. This is what I did with my next mind map.

mind-map_page_1

From this mind map, I was able to learn a lot about animation, from the history of animation to the types of old animation. I was able to learn the correct names of the types of 2D animation, there is traditional animation which is where each frame is drawn by hand, there is key framed animation which is vector based, this is usually done by creating separate parts of an object like a character and then creating key frames with those parts. The last type of 2D animation is motion graphics, this is mainly animating logos and text using After Effects.

I also did research into the history of animation and discovered old techniques and methods of animation, some well known and others quiet obscured. For instance the magic lantern style of animation was when you move certain shapes over a projector, to create movement on the screen it is projecting on.  Well known old types of animation are the Thaumatrope which was a disc with two images on either side of it, when rapidly rotated, it gave the illusion that the images of either side of the disc were one. The Phenakistoscope which is a disc that has every frame of animation along the outside of the disc, the disc is then spun to create the illusion of movement from the pictures drawn on it. The last type of animation I discovered was the Zoetrope, like the Phenakistoscope however it was spun by a motor, had inbuilt lights and would only work if the viewer was looking through the panels of the contraption.

Reflection

From this task, I was able to learn more about my chosen discipline, which is animation; with this knowledge, I can apply this to my final major project by using it to direct the project in a specific path which makes me explore more about animation and improve my skills on animation.

Harvard reference:

Groening, M. (2015) The 5 types of animation – A beginner’s guide. Available at: https://www.bloopanimation.com/types-of-animation/ (Accessed: 17 January 2017).

Reserved, T.A. rights (2005) Top 10 greatest Animators of all time – TheTopTens®. Available at: http://www.thetoptens.com/top-10-greatest-animators/ (Accessed: 17 January 2017).

charlie hopley (2014) Early animation 1 magic lantern. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2gPCalHToW8 (Accessed: 18 January 2017).

charlie hopley (2014) Early animation 2 Thaumatrope. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-hltO9ZR18 (Accessed: 18 January 2017).

charlie hopley (2014) Early animation 3 Phenakistoscope. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FkoWioYrPtE (Accessed: 18 January 2017).

charlie hopley (2014) Early animation 4 Zoetrope. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Iczb82zd6s (Accessed: 18 January 2017).

 

Reflecting on this week

From this weeks tasks, I believe I have done very well with them, I was able to follow and learn the guide lines I was shown on how to do a case study, put it into practice for my first case study and then use it to work on my own case study. I was able to again reflect fairly well and also include all the Harvard references I used.

One thought on “Week 3

  1. Jack, this is a very limited response to the tasks for this week and does not reflect the week’s work, particularly when it comes to your own research. Is the two paragraphs of findings you have for your own investigation really the result of two days of research? I find this somewhat hard to believe. There should have been more detail here in terms of what you have learned and how you could apply this to your ideas for your FMP.

    Furthermore, you have not really contextualised the tasks that you undertook. What was the purpose of the skateboard case study? What skills was this designed to help you develop? How did you apply these skills to develop your knowledge? What research techniques did you use? You must explain this and reflect in a substantial manner on how these techniques and tools will help you when exploring your ideas.

    I suggest that you revisit this post and develop your account of these tasks, focusing on the areas highlighted above.

    Like

Leave a Reply

