Development diary: week 8

Final wireframes for the layout of panels- 30th May (3.1)

After creating rough designs and ideas, I have decided to create the final wireframes for the layout of panels using the rough designs and ideas to create them. I need the final ones as it will help me to create the panels a lot quicker because they are more organised and it will help me to determine if these panels are capable of keeping a good flow whilst telling the story.

Here are the designs:

imageimageimageimage

For nearly every page I was happy with the rough layouts, only switching up some of the ways the panels were cut, however for page 3 I was not happy with its layouts. So I produced more rough layouts of page 3 and was able to come up with the final design, which is shown in the pictures above.

Here are the rough designs of page 3:

image

Reflection

I believe the final layouts I have designed went very well, this is because I was able to make the layouts more neater whilst improving them, adding gapes between panels, adding more shapes and I was able to show the panel’s sizes for each page and layer. All this will allow me to create each panel for the comic a lot quicker as it is now more organized and shows all my ideas for its layouts and shapes.

 

The comics art style- 31st May to 2nd June (2.1, 3.1)

I have created the main designs for the characters, however I have not decided on the comics art style. This matters a lot with the story as the art can make an impact to a scene or how the story is set, such as if the story was set to be humours and fun, it wouldn’t have loads of detail and seriousness in its art otherwise it takes the fun out of it and makes the comic more serious.

I will do research into 3 different art styles that are from comics that aim to be humours and fun; I will also look into the how the comic does shading and its colour scheme it uses. The first comic series I was suggested to look at was Rocket Raccoon.

Rocket Raccoon

Written and drawn by Skottie Young, he has released two series of Rocket raccoon called “Rocket Raccoon: A Chasing Tale” (issues #1-6) and the other is called “Rocket Raccoon: Storytailer” (issues #7-11).

Inc, C.I. (2014) Rocket raccoon #1. Available at: http://comicvine.gamespot.com/rocket-raccoon-1-a-chasing-tale-part-1/4000-458533/ (Accessed: 31 May 2016).

The art style Skottie uses is very sketchy and cartoony, making some of the characters have very thin limbs, such as the legs in the front cover image above. When I say sketchy, I mean like pencil sketches done on paper, however it varies when the distance is changed, such as in the image below, the first panel doesn’t have loads of detail and is sketchy with lighter lines, where as on the next panel, more detail have been added and the lines are harder, however it still maintains some sketchy lines.

Brooke, D. (2016) Is it good? Rocket raccoon #1 review. Available at: http://www.adventuresinpoortaste.com/2014/07/02/is-it-good-rocket-raccoon-1-review/(Accessed: 31 May 2016).

The shading of the comic also acts the same way as sketching, it changes at distance, its little blobs at a distance, then becomes more shaped and sometimes sharpened. The colour scheme of this comic is very bright and vibrant, keeping colourful through the comic; I believe this is what also makes the comic seem fun and hilarious as it keeps the seriousness pretty low even when something pretty dramatic happens, it stays colourful to take the edge off.

Practicing the art style on the main character:

image

Reflecting on practicing the art style, I believe it went very well, it was simple for me. This is because I had a fair amount of drawing cartoons and creating characters with simple details and different proportions. This will allow me to create the comic faster as I already have some experience with the art. The art style also fits well with the kind of story I am aiming for, to be fun and simple, it also matches the main character as he is supposed to be light and fast.

Axe cop

Malachai Nicolle and drawn by Ethan Nicolle, Axe cop has been made as a comic and a cartoon series.

LLC, S. (2013) Weekend diversion: Axe cop. Available at: http://scienceblogs.com/startswithabang/2013/08/11/weekend-diversion-axe-cop/ (Accessed: 31 May 2016).

Unlike the art style in rocket raccoon, the body structures of the characters are proportioned like a normal person, varying the type of body, whether they are muscle or fat, tall or short. However the art style for the comic changes with each character, mainly the villains in axe cop as there are always new villains.

DeviantArt (2016) Axe cop issue 3 -color preview. Available at: http://themrock.deviantart.com/art/Axe-Cop-Issue-3-Color-Preview-207577730 (Accessed: 31 May 2016).

The art style overall is very strong and bold, the lines being thick and the colour not being as vibrant as the Rocket Raccoon comic but this varies through the comic. The characters’ bodies are proportioned like a normal human or other things that relate to the real world (Like bears). The detail of characters’ faces are simple but well shaped, the main characters don’t have loads of dimples and lines, however the placement the few lines and shading used create a well fleshed out face. The detail changes through each character such as for animal characters, there is more effort in the shading and more lines are added. The detail also changes when a character is not important to the story, the character has less detail, this is usual for the civilians.

Practicing the art style on the main character:

imageReflecting on practicing the art style, I believe it went pretty good. I was able to figure out the proportions of the character and explore different poses for the body and created a face I liked. This was a little harder than the Rocket Raccoon art style but it was still achievable, if I was to use this art style for the comic I would not create it as fast as if I used the Rocket Raccoon art style but I would still be able to produce it in the time I have. The art style does fit with the story but I believe it would become more serious; the art style also does fit with the character but makes him look a little too buff for the character I want however that can be simply changed.

Deadpool

I will now be looking into Deadpool, specifically issue #39. This is because I own this issue of deadpool, which will allow to look closer into the art of the comic. The comic was pencilled by Bong Dazo, inked by Joe Pimentel and coloured by Andres Mossa.

Inc, C.I. (2011) Deadpool #39. Available at: http://comicvine.gamespot.com/deadpool-39-operation-annihilation-part-three-wome/4000-275770/ (Accessed: 2 June 2016).

After looking carefully through the comic I found that the art style is very detailed. The characters’ body proportions are very realistic, sticking with reality than having unrealistic cartoonish limbs. The face and body details also appear to aim to look like a the real counterpart as it adds all the details needed to show different facial features, body movements and more; the comic does this by using all different sized lines to show depth in the character, like Deadpool’s collar bone or hulks muscles and veins.

(No Date) Available at: https://www.comixology.com/Deadpool-2008-2012-39/digital-comic/24696 (Accessed: 2 June 2016).

The shading is very natural, showing it wants to stick with reality; the colour on the other hand stays bright and colourful, taking the edge off the comic as it wants to stay funny even though serious things are happening, like violence and gore.

Practicing the art style on the main character:

imageReflecting on the practice, I believe it did not go as well as the other art styles. This is because I do not have as much experience in creating very detailed characters like in the marvel comics. I can not use this art style as it would take too long to learn how to create it and because I have learnt it recently it would take long to create the comic, meaning I would be able to finish the comic on time. The art style does not fit in with the kind of story I am aiming for as the art style is to serious for the comics humour.

Final decision

I have decided that the kind of art style I will go for is the Rocket Raccoon style. This is because it fits well with the story and characters, along with the humour I am trying to aim for. It is also because I believe will be able to create the art in good time and I will not be delayed by any difficulties.

Reflection

I believe that I have done very well in discovering what kind of art style I will use; I have done research into three popular comics that are known for their humour, I have explored the art styles they use and I have tried to recreate their art styles to see if I can recreate them. This will help me to create the content for the comic using the right art styles I want for the comic.

 

Creating the Front page- 3rd June to 5th June (3.1)

This week I will be beginning to create the front page for the comic using the ideas and designs I created from last week. I used both Photoshop and hand drawing to create these assets.

Title

To do this first I created the title by using a size ten brush and putting on a grid, I made the word “Galactic” a spate layer to the word “Plunderer”, this allowed me to position the titles how I wanted them to be.

Making the galactic title step 1

I then began sorting out the right colours I wanted for the title, I chose to have a black outline with a red filler for the mean time, this was because it would refer to the glowing red goggles that the main character wears.

Making the galactic title step 2

After selecting the colours, I merged both layers together and pressed Ctrl + T, this creates a box around the layer you have selected which you can edit to change the layers shape, you can enlarge it, add more height, etc. I chose to stretch it, this is done by holding down Ctrl whilst moving one of its corners; I stretched the bottom corners outwards and the top corners inwards.

Making the galactic title step 3

After that I began perking it up, adding some elements to it to see what fit, that’s when I discovered it looked good with a reflective surface. To create this I first created a new layer which I will use to add the light bouncing off from the title, I then returned back to the title layer and used the magic wand tool to select the red parts of the title and returned back to the layer I was going to create the reflection on. I then selected the brush that resembled a sharpie, I set the size of the brush to 36 and the colour white; this is when I began to create straight lines across the title, only a few thick ones. I did this two more times both setting the brush smaller and smaller; I then changed the layer opacity to 35%.

Making the galactic title step 4 half

Making the galactic title step 5

The last step is like the previous step, I again created a new layer with the insides of the title still selected and drew lines but reduced the size of the brush and did it within the lines I previously created, this increased its reflective look.

Making the galactic title step 6

Logo

To create the logo I first drew it on paper, as I prefer traditional drawing more that doing it straight on the computer. This way it allows me to create the logo a lot faster. I then traced over the pencil with a black pen, this will allow it to show more when I transfer it to the computer.

image

Next I transferred it into Photoshop, this is where I will add the rest of the features of the logo. I first selected the outline of the rocket and the clouds and filled it in with the bucket tool on a separate layer, I then added a circle that matched with the circle I sketch on the paper.

creating the logo step 3Now that I had my main layout I began to smooth out and correct any errors I made with the pen. After that I then coloured the rocket and clouds in, using the red theme I had from the title. I also added in another circle from the shapes and place it behind the first circle, this would be the space the rocket is flying through.

creating the logo step 4

After I finished colouring the insides of the outline with the bucket tool, I added a layer above the outline layer and began shading, I did this by turning the layer (the one I just made) opacity down and using a brush with the colour black, this would darken any colours on the layer below. I could also use a brush with the colour white if I wanted a colour brighter from the light bouncing off it. I added stroke to the red circle in the back, this was because it would match the title as it has a black outline.

creating the logo step 5

Once I had colour and shading down for the main part of the logo, I started to add the stars in the background as it is in space. This would also make the logo look less empty and be more colourful.

creating the logo step 6After placing the logo next to the title to see if it would match I realised that the logo was not bouncing light off like the title, this made the logo not look right. To counter this I added some bands of light going across the logo, using the same technique as the title.

creating the logo step 7

After placing it next to the title I have realised that the light bouncing off is at the wrong angle, so I have decided to keep it with out the light bouncing off and add the light when it is positioned correctly with the title. When adding the light to logo whilst with the title I chose to add stroke to the layer as the outline did not look as thick as the titles outline. Here are the end results:

creating the logo step 8

I chose to have the logo below the title because when placing it to the title’s sides, it did not look right as the title is going inwards, when I tried to fit the logo in it ended up not looking as good, so I chose to have it at the bottom.

front cover title and logo

Reflection

Looking back at the work, I believe I have produced very good quality work, however the speed I produced it was not as fast as I wanted it to be. It may be because I was somewhat busy, but I still believe I should have done better. I was able to create the title and the logo, but I only began to work on the pages art at the end of the day, I will continue this next week.

 

Reflection on the week

This week has been alright, I was able to produce some assets, I created the final layouts for the comics panels and I did some research into different art styles and found the art style I will use for the comic. However I was not able to create the front page this week and I was not able to finish the last character bible page. I have set myself to finish the character bible this week and write it up on the blog; I also set myself to finish the front page this week and begin creating the assets for the comic’s pages, this includes panels and sound.

Leave a Reply

