Development diary: Week 4

Focus groups and final idea (2.1)

Reflection on feedback

Interactive comic:

The feedback I received for the interactive comic were well done, I was suggested to use directional trails when showing movement, these are the blurs you see in a comic when an object or person is moving fast, an after image. I was also told to remember techniques such as camera angles and panning, and also to look at some examples of motion used in still images, one of the examples was mortal combat 9 and X character endings.

I also told them how I was planning to change the art style for different events such as a flash back, they told me to use different colours and shapes for flash backs. The last of the feedback was to do research into who was gonna voice the audio, what tools I would use to create audio and where I would record it; I was also told to look up some examples of panel transitions and to use only short simple animation in my comic.

Reflecting on the feedback, it has helped me to decide what I should include in the comic in graphical representation such as directional trails and motion, and what I need to research such as examples of motion and how to create the audio.

Animation

The feedback for the animation idea was well received, I was told to look at some software I might use for creating the animations, such as for creating the 2D assets I would suggested to use Paint tool sai and Photoshop, and for putting the 2D assets together and turning into an animation, I was suggest to use Aftereffects. I was also suggested to look up Hishe tutorial on how to animate with aftereffect and to look up other 2D techniques and how to’s for aftereffects, Photoshop and Paint tool sai.

I was told to think about whether I am going to draw the key frames then scan them in and edit them or to draw straight into the computer using a tablet, I was also told to think about the colours in the background. I was also suggest instead of making one long animation that would last less than a minute, I should create a series of shorts that would last roundabout 5 seconds, these shorts would include narration and subtle’s. The animations would be about key events in my story and the main character age would be around 28-29.

Reflecting on the feedback, I have found out what software I can use to create the animation and 2D assets, I have also found out that I need to research into into colours and design in backgrounds, and I have decided for the animations to be a series of shorts that are around 5 seconds long and the main character shall be around 28-29.

Concept art 

The feedback I received for the concept art idea were helpful, I was told that the concept art does not have to be advanced, they can be just silhouette or clothes and just be sketches. I was suggest two ways of presenting the work, a slide show or a portfolio; I was also suggest to make multiple main characters and to think about how the clothes change through the environments, such as cold environments, the clothes would be thick and woolly.

I was also told that I would need to consider how much detail each concept would need, how much time I would put into each one and how many I would make.

Reflecting on the feedback, I have decided to have the concept art presented as a portfolio and i have decided to do multiple characters and one character with different clothes to match the environment they are in. I have also learnt that the concept art doesn’t have to be super detailed, just good sketches.

Final Idea 

I have decided to go for my interactive comic idea to tell my story, I have chose this idea because I believe it to be the best way to tell my story, also it would allow me to explore my own art styles, explore different ways to tell a story and learn more about visual design.

Action plan

Create script for each panel

Create storyboard for each panel from script

Create layouts of panels

Create drawn designs of panels

Scan in and digitally add colour

Finalize all panels and begin to identify sounds such as foley and ambient

Record sound effects and other audio

Edit audio

Bring into Madefire motion book tool

test and edit till perfect

Q&A testing, then edit faults

Reflection

I have learnt what I want to do for my FMP, along with my action plan on how I’m going to do it. This will help me to begin my FMP’s research and production stage with out any halts to progress.

 

Three research tasks (2.1)

The three research task I am going to do is research into Madefire motion book tool software, I will research how to create transitions in panels and speech bubbles, how to add motion in Madefire’s motion book tool and I will also research into a interactive comic similar to  the comic I am planning to make, its name is Dirk Benedict in the 25th century. This is important research as it will help me to use Madefire’s software to create an interactive comic and will allow me to be able to use all of its tools to my advantage, it will also help me to learn different techniques and ideas to use to tell my story, such as visual art styles and interactive techniques to use in the comic.

Madefire’s motion book tool: Transitions

Madefire’s motion book tool works all by layers, to go to the next page it merely removes a layer and shows the next layer below. So first place the main page into new layer and all the other assets such as text bubbles; once the page is in and all prepared, click on the arrow close to the top of the control panel, this will open up effects. Add a new effect by clicking the plus sign, this will open up all the assets you have put in such as the panel or the speech bubbles, select one and you will be given the effects you can add to the asset such as fade in and fade out, these will be the effects that will be used to transition by fading in or out.

However there is another way, again using the effects you can have the selected asset slide in or out by using the effect “slide out” and choosing the direction you would want it to slide in or out. With every effect you can select when it begins and its duration, however when using effects you will need to create key points (which is when the viewer would need to click/tap to continue) as the comic runs by a timeline, this timeline will only stop at a key point.

Madefire’s motion book tool: Motion

Like how transitions are created, motion is created by using the effects tool; there are two ways of creating motion, using stop motion by making the images change by the effect fade in or out or using the other effects that move the asset. The movement effects you can use to create motion are the slide, the move, the scale and the rotate; you can combine these movement effects to one asset such as you can use the move effect to make a “bullet” look like its traveling through the air and you can use the scale effect to have the “bullet” change size because of perspective, the bullet would be come smaller when traveling away or would be become bigger when traveling towards.

Dirk Benedict in the 25th century

I will be looking at issue 0# which is a short preview of the comic whilst also containing concept art of the comic, the interactive comic does not have motion or sound, however I will be looking at its visual art style and its colours. The first thing I noticed with this comic is its layout, the comic uses the big Z pattern I learnt in my research but only keeps to this pattern very loosely, allowing the comic to have more freedom in the layouts freeform approach.

Scott Phillips. (2013). Dirk Benedict in the 25th Century #1 . Available: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/dirk-benedict-in-25th-century/id666047030?mt=11. Last accessed 8th May 2016.

The colour the comic uses are very dull and dirty, giving the comic a rough look; this is some what unusual as when a comic’s genre is Sci-fi themed, the colours are vibrant and bright to emphasize it is the future.  However this comic does not follow this rule, instead does the opposite which matches with it’s story, as the future in the story is grim and dark as robots have taken over the world. The comic does use bright colours but only for things with great power like a laser, an explosion and after burners on space ships; this technique would emphasize power which is a great use for the comic.

For the comics art style uses a lot of facial details, such as wrinkles and dimples, this also includes the clothing and other elements of this comic, however this changes with distance as the further away an object is the less detail it has and the closer it is the more detail it has. This is because the comic follows the rules of perspective, like the human eye; now the art style does change through each issue but we are merely focusing on the issue 0#.

Reflection on the research

I have learnt some of the functions and features to Madefire’s motion book tool whilst researching how to create transitions and motion; I learnt how to import assets into the motion book tool, this would include visual assets and audio; I have learnt how to apply effects to visual assets and how to create key points on the timeline. For the research I have done with a similar comic story, I have learnt about the importance of colour and how it conveys meaning with the story, along with how colour is used in Sci-fi and I have learnt how visual art styles can change with perspective.

This will help me to use Madefire’s motion book tool more easily to create the interactive comic, it will help me to create a proper Sci-fi comic by using colours and it will help me to create proper visual art that follow the rules of perspective.

Leave a Reply

