Development diary: week 1

Interactive media ecosystem (1.1)

This week we learnt about the interactive ecosystem, what it contains and how it connects. The ecosystem contains four sections, platforms and media, organisation
and institutions, and sectors.

Here is an infography of the ecosystem:

Imedia ecosystem infography

That lesson I also researched the opportunities, the pros and cons, and some examples to base off; I researched into platform holders and content creators.

Content Creator:

Content creators have to make decisions on what kind of media they should publish on, this because some mediums might earn more profit than others, such as to say if they created a movie, they would have to decide if they want to publish it on Blu-ray or DVD. To make this decision they would have to look at the statistics to see which medium sells the most, so for DVD and Blu-Ray, DVD sold more in 2014 which means that the smarter option is to pick DVD. Content Creators also connect with platform holders as Blu-Ray runs on a whole different platform to DVD.

Platform Holders:

Platform holders have to convince content creators to release their content onto their platform, this is because platform holders cannot sell its products (Blu-Ray player) without having some content, the more exclusive the content the better for the platform. So if we talk about Blu-Ray, they would want to gain a profit by selling more of their products which means they have to convince content creators to make their content exclusive to their platform.

Reflection 

I have learnt the main parts of the ecosystem, including some examples of them such as platforms and media, examples would be consoles, blu-ray and dvd. This will help me to use the interactive media ecosystem to have a better understanding of the product I will create for the FMP. However I believe this infography does not fully achieve its purpose of showing the interactive media ecosystem as it does not describe each point and what it actually means. This could be improved if I did more secondary research into the subject.

 

Production processes (1.1)

This week we learnt about production processes and how different medias have different processes to their media; We focused on the pre-production, the main production and the post-production.

Here is a mind map of each production process section and what it might contain:

image

After learning what production processes there are, we were given the task to create two flowcharts based on the production processes of a specific medium, such as a film or game. I did both a game which was Bioshock and an interactive comic called RAD, choose an interactive comic book because it was what I would be working on to create for the final major project, if I create a flowchart of the processes I would know what to do at each stage of creating and interactive comic book.

Here is the game flowchart:

Flowchart of production processes- Games (1)

Here is the interactive comic flowchart:

production process flowchart- interactive comic

Comparing both flowcharts they are very similar however the interactive comic is more focused on 2D assets and its also has layouts below storyboard this because a comic book has to focus more on layouts so it knows where to place the images on its page and in what order. The games flowchart also has animation which is done before the engine/programming this is because animation is also classed as an asset when creating a game, however for the interactive comic, animation is part of the program which means that the 2D assets become animation once placed into the program.

Reflection 

This task went very well as I was able to learn the main parts of production processes, including the stages of production which are pre-production, production and post-production. I have also learnt the production process of games and interactive comic. This will help me to plan out the process of my FMP if ever go for a product similar to the flowcharts I created or go for something that is different to the flowcharts.

 

Trends (1.1, 2.1)

This week we learnt about trends, how they evolve through time and how some are connect. I created a infographic timeline of some trends that have evolved through time using secondary research which was mostly internet based. The main three trends this timeline shows are the internet trends, game trends and disk trends.

infography timeline

The infography is able to show how technology and trends have evolved through time whilst also connecting to other trends to make new trends, such as using the internet to create online gaming and digital media possible for a console.

Reflection

I have learnt that trends usually work together, connecting to other trends to make new trends, such as how games have evolved to use the internet to connect and play with other players or how the games have changed the disk format to allow more data to be contained for games. I will be able to use this to figure out the trend my FMP will be and further work with it to discover what my FMP will be. The Trends timeline could be improved by going further into the years, showing some very important stuff that has happened relating to these things, such as portable games, etc.

 

Researching who I am (2.1)

This week I did research into myself, who I am, what makes me. I did this because it would help me to figure out what I should do for my Final major project; to do this I created a simple rough mind map to list the key points about and my life style, etc. This would allow me to find the key aspects I could use for the FMP and see what I would enjoy if I were to pick a subject or idea for my FMP.

I then further improved it by creating a digital version, using Photoshop and the rough mind map to create it. I also made it so the design would reflect me as well, the circuitry is suppose to show multiple things about me.

Who am I

Reflection

Overall this mind map went very well I was able to learn what my interests are and where I can take my FMP, such as I have an interest in art and I have a creative mind, so maybe I should aim my FMP towards something to do with art that would allow me to use my creativity to its fullest, like animation. This will help me to chose an FMP suitable to me and that will also help me to discover new thing I could do for my FMP. The mind map is also very well designed, reflecting what kind of person I am.

One thought on “Development diary: week 1

  1. Jack, you basically introduce each task and include a reflection for some (although this is a bit limited and does not include what you have learned and how you could apply this to your FMP). However, and there is no evidence of research or Harvard referencing for each of the tasks. Where is the information for your ecosystem infographic? The point of this is to present information about the structure of the industry, not simply list things. There is no connection between them, no indication of statistics and research and no reflection on this. Your timeline also only reaches 2003! What has happened since? Some quite important stuff for interactive media. You had a lot of time on these tasks in class – they should have been more comprehensive than this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

